39M Living the ADHD life

I didn’t get my ADHD diagnosis until I was 25. I always suspected in college that I was but I was too scared to do look into it for the fear of the stigma. I graduated from college and I wanted to go for a higher degree but the idea of sitting in MORE classes was just too much for me to bear. I jumped from one bad relationship to another, ones where I always felt like I was barely making it work thanks to my charm and wit but that only works in the beginning with most women not seeing those as enough for a serious relationship. When I broke up with an on-again, off-again girlfriend, she begged me to go look into help. That’s when I got my diagnosis. I got on meds, started working out and really focused on my self. That’s when I met the woman who would become my wife. She has anxiety and was one of the few people I had ever met that understood that I wasn’t lazy and that I just couldn’t help some of the things I did. Somehow, we managed to balance each other out. When I start getting distracted, she pulls me back in and when she’s too terrified to start, I am jumping in feet first so that she just has to follow. We also divided the household responsibilities with what plays to our strengths. She pays our bills and makes sure we have a savings account because the last time I was in charge of just one of our bills, I ended up getting our jeep repoed because I kept forgetting to make payments, even though we had the money.