40 years of unbridled ADHD. But it's getting better.

To the beginning (some time after 1978)

I was a bright student. In elementary school I often had high grades. Nearly straight “A” student with high grades. Though my report cards if I look back on them say “Evan has so much potential, if he would just apply himself…”

But as a high performing student nobody ever thought much.

By high school things changed. I started smoking a lot of pot. I often didn’t go to school. I got a criminal record at a young age. The school had a ‘*’ on my attendance sheets saying they had given up trying to discipline me for attendance. I would walk out in the middle of class because I was bored and wanted to do something else.

I once asked an English professor why he made jokes about me never doing my homework while he came down hard on others. He said it was because I was fully capable of doing the work, but just didn’t want to, where as they needed to be pushed to do the practice to be able to gain the skills.

I would get a job and then quit. In one case I made a poor choice that got me fired (and a criminal record). At one point I quit my job, wanting something different and walked away from my home and found myself living on the streets. My mother told me to go back to school, so I went out the next day and signed up for a college course in 3D animation before the industry took off; it seemed interesting. But I didn’t follow through on that career after school.

I found myself jumping from job to job. I would get bored and quit. I had a student debt that I couldn’t pay. My grandfather told me that he didn’t care what I did in life, but just to be good at something. The word ‘potential’ stirred feelings of anger. As a young adult living with my mother, she eventually told me to leave, because she knew keeping me at home wasn’t helping.