Addiction to medication?

Just have my first visit with a psychiatrist and he said that some of the ADHD medication is additive.

Has anyone found their medication addictive? My “research” told me that it wasn’t.

Does anyone have any links to articles or studies?

1 Like

Some are addictive if taken in high amounts, but from what I understand (I’m not a doctor, keep that in mind), at the clinically used doses, addiction is extremely rare. But in higher doses, amphetamines especially CAN be addictive. But again, that’s usually at way higher doses than are used to treat ADHD…

1 Like

Also have this, which might give you an idea as well.:blush: It’s from a full study, I’ve linked and posted this multiple times in the forum because people are sometimes scared.:blush::sweat_smile:

3 Likes

Nope nope nope and nope. I really think the fear, that ADHD medications will become addictions, is a bug-a-boo that has been falsely posited by naysayers. We deal with just so so SO much disinformation about the ADHD range of psychological knowledge, and this (to me) is just another unnecessary red flag. A warning without much merit.