ADHD and Driving

Does anyone else here have trouble driving and think it might be tied to your ADHD? I’m not a HORRIBLE driver but sometimes I get into sticky situations on the road and have to correct myself, and I absolutely cannot look away from the road (besides watching my fellow drivers) because I WILL drift into another lane. I read once that ADHD affects driving a lot and I just wondered how many of you have trouble.

I used to have a LOT of anxiety around driving but most of that has gone away with experience, however I still get anxious if I have to drive in high traffic areas or areas I’m not familiar with.

Yes, I am a very good driver at fast speeds. However I have been in several slow speed accidents (under 10 mph), because I get fed up with not moving. 2 have been jumping a left turn, 1 was in a parking lot, 2 have been hitting the accelerator at a stop light before the car in front of me started going.

I’m similar. In 25 years of driving, the only accident I had at any speed was hitting a deer. There was a deer suddenly in my way, I swerved, and just as I was about to pass by it ran back in front.

When I was younger, I took my mother’s car up a curb in a snow storm while driving like an idiot. It was low speed but did a fair bit of damage.

Otherwise it’s been a few very low speed bumps with stationary objects.

The only accidents I’ve been in have been when I was driving sensibly. Once on a motorbike, a car pulled out in front of me from a stopped position, and I had to drop the bike to avoid crashing into the car, which just kept driving without seeing what they had done. Riding a bike helps you develop eyes in the back of your head, and a sixth sense about people who are trying to kill you (pretty much anybody on the road). But I didn’t see this one coming. No indicators, no checking for traffic, they just pulled out right in front of me.