ADHD assessment pricing?

information
adhdlife

So i am trying to finally get an assessment for ADHD and ive done so much research and i found a psychologist that specializes in ADHD and he is accepting sliding scale (no insurance) he told me that the full assesment usually starts at $15,000!! :astonished: (ouch :dizzy: ) but he said that he is willing to work with me and lower it to $850…
. Is $850 a reasonable price for 8 weeks of adhd and learning disability assessment / diagnosing? i have no insurace. Sorry to ask but i am new to all of this :cry:

0 Likes

Well, where do you live? Without insurance, I’m assuming US? $15000 sounds like a LOT, but I also question what the heck you need 8 weeks of screening and testing for…!:open_mouth: I don’t know the processes everywhere, but usually it’s a series of meetings/interviews/conversations with a psychogist (or psychiatrist depending on where you are), and then you get your diagnosis after between 2 and 6 sessions, usually… So even with 1 meeting per week, I don’t understand $15000… Even including the overpriced tests you have to take…
We have public healthcare where I live, but because I was in a bit of a rush, I opted for private, and it cost me… Somewhere around $1000 for 4(/5) sessions + tests + medication consultation. Possibly a bit more than that, but I live in an expensive place when dealing with the private market, so…

0 Likes