ADHD professional musicians here?

Having any trouble with self dicipline when it comes to practicing when there is no specific and imminent concert/audition to prepare for?

I teach the cello, and so working on my own stuff is really important to maintain and improve my performance skills. Also, I find even 20min will really wake my brain up (yup, playing a musical instrument is fireworks for the brain!!). But even on medication, I have real trouble getting started (except if it’s a sunny day outside which works wonders also). And then I feel guilty because freakin heck this is my passion, so why am I not gagging to do it?! And where is that hyper focus super power when you need it???

Anyone else have these experiences?

So much so! Not diagnosed yet but most likely ADHD anyway.
I studied music at university and 1,5 year out of uni now and I’m still truggling to activate myself into gear to start my career!

I love music and I want to work within music, but I find it really hard to get myself to practice and create content and network and all that jazz.

I just can’t seem to bring myself to do it! Super frustrating!

Create content? So you’re in more the performance and truly freelance line of work? Yes I can imagine the difficulty…! My lifeline is the fact that teaching, i.e. showing up for kids’ lessons, provides me with an automatic structure that I cannot let slide. As for creative stuff and self improvement… oh dear.

A few days ago I decided SOME practice is better than NONE, and so even if I have to set the (time) bar ridiculously low, it eventually adds up, and again, at least it’s something. So I’ve been doing the pomodoro thing. One measly 20min pomodoro a day before work. But that’s 20min more each day than I had been doing, so, yay…!

Also, I gave my boyfriend the power to police me a bit. And actually he doesn’t have to say anything, it’s enough (so far) for me to just know that I’ve told him he CAN. :blush: