Am I the ONLY ONE who can't drive because of my ADHD??????? (warning: self-pity and frustration ahoy lol)

I’ve failed my driving test twice and I’ve got another one coming up at the end of the month. My first test I failed 9 years ago. My second test I failed last month. I’ve had 4 different instructors over the years, and cancelled multiple tests along the way.

It’s not nerves. It’s not that I can’t drive. It’s not mean examiners, or bad luck. I just CANNOT FOCUS enough for the 40 minute test. It makes me so upset, because my driving lessons now feel pointless, I’m not learning anything new. I’m wasting money just practising what I can already do, because I’ve been learning for 9 years. I just got back from a lesson where I practised all my manoeuvres, even surprised myself by remembering everything about how to do them and negotiating a busy saturday afternoon town centre.

But I pulled out onto a roundabout right into traffic and the instructor had to stop me.

These stupid mistakes happen SO OFTEN and it’s SO FRUSTRATING because I don’t know why I do them!! I thought the ADHD explained it, and yes being medicated/treated makes a HUGE difference to my driving. I practise a lot of mindfulness too.

My instructors without fail end up scratching their heads at how such a good confident driver can make such dangerous mistakes as if they’re on their first lesson.

I mean, I know it’s my ADHD really, because I know my brain and I KNOW the feeling of being momentarily distracted, of my brain transitioning too slowly from one task to another, of being bad at prioritising, and of missing details because I’ve got a song in my head and forget what’s going on around me.