Any advice on learning to play the piano?

Greetings fellow brains :slight_smile:

Last month i got a stagepiano (e-piano) as a gift from my fiancée because i told her owning and playing the piano is a little dream of mine. :muscle:t3: My issue now is the lack of budget for a teacher to take lessons, so i started learning via online school.

Well… You probably are going to laugh but i have issues with motivation and i lack of self-discipline. The most part those easy lessons feel WAY too easy… As i am a guy who loves the challenge i started learning my very first piano piece: “To Zanarkand”. I was able to learn it and i can play it but this is not the right way to motivate myself to learn the whole thing not just pieces i like. I realised that after i finished learning the piece: “comptine d’un autre été”

I cant play the songs perfectly at all and practising them to get better starts getting tedious and i stopped making progress. It feels like im getting even worse than better. :sob:

Do you guys have any helpful tips and tricks for me? I want to stick to playing the e-piano so bad but being me… Almost makes it impossible… :pensive:

What kind of music do you want to play? Pop, Rock, Blues? Jazz? Classical? Different music can have different approaches.

I do prefer new classical and classical pieces but tbh i never really thought about it cause i usually want to learn pieces i love to hear. Mostly they are emotionally touching… River flows in you and moonlight sonata as examples. (i know i have quite some years to go before i can even try to learn the whole thing)

First, I’d like to say Kudos for learning ‘comptine d’un autre ete’ The left hand technique needed for that song is something that would make me want to learn something else. When I’m learning a song that requires technique, like this one does, I make it a point to have the technique become muscle memory.