Anyone else struggle to study?

Heya tribe, anyone else frustrated with themselves at times? If you can relate or have any advice on my struggle I’d appreciate it.

Currently I’m studying for college and no one knows I have ADHD or understands that I’m not always focused.

I could be sitting doing homework that takes me ages to do because I keep getting distracted, but I’m always so happy with myself for sticking with the work and getting it finished! It’s so hard to know if your work is good enough or up to standard.

It’s not easy whenever my sister or mum laugh at me or tell me off for getting distracted or going to tidy my bedroom etc. When I should be studying, but it’s so much easier to do anything else but study. I do want to study but it sometimes can feel like a reminder of how much I don’t know. I feel useless compared to the other people in my class who can finish their practice tests in shorter time because they don’t start thinking about 20 other different things when they read a sentence lol :joy:.

I didn’t expect to be so long, but it can get really frustrating, and it’s really nice to be honest on here and not be met with pity or scepticism but just understanding. You’s are a great bunch of people

3 Likes

I relate quite a bit, but am lucky to have hyperfocus on learning pretty much anything, as I find most things interesting. Sadly, I don’t know if I have any good advice, other than frequent breaks, although I know exactly how hard it can be to get back to it… Timing the breaks to be natural, and keeping passionate regarding what you’re reading or doing is the important thing, at least from my experience. So I suspect it’s EVEN more important for us Brains to study something we’re genuinely interested in.

1 Like