Architect in training! Can I get some opinions?

adhdlife

HELLO!!!
My name is Alli! and in case you didn’t see my username…or the name of the post, I love architecture. I am in my 3rd year of architecture school. I’m working on a project in Italy about redesigning a piazza. I presented my ideas to my professor, but I’m not impressed by them. The piazza is a blank slate, resturants around the exterior, lemon trees, and its all concrete. It’s currently a place for a market that happens once a week.

I want to redesign the piazza around some sort of hobby or interest that reflects the culture of Italy.
I tried to make the focus on contemporary art sculptures, a book exchange, food and restaurants, but I forgot something important…

Why should people go there?

This is where I need some help… What sort of activities would you guys to do outdoors in a public square? So far I have reading, playing, drawing and listening to music. But what else would you do?

0 Likes

Hi Alli!

And welcome back to the forum. I was thinking busking, people-watching, maybe have a large chess board people can play on?

1 Like

oooh I like the chess idea a lot! And I love people-watching too!

0 Likes

A speaker’s corner. Somewhere that anyone can just talk to the world about whatever they want to speak about. Maybe lay some ground rules… No politics, religion or sex. Takes all the fun out of it though. :wink:

Maybe other forms of performance could happen there as well.

Maybe have an area where people can sit and listen, or just eat their lunch… Possibly design it so that the listeners can interact socially with each other as well.

Just a thought…

Personally, I love history. So for me, a little hint of ancient Rome, or the renaissance would be interesting… But possibly difficult to tie in with contemporary art.

So many designers forget the human element, and the designs can be quite uncompromising. The real vitality comes from people, so I’m happy to see you ask this question.

1 Like