Budgeting and bookkeeping

As probably most of you can relate to, staying on top of my finances isn’t something I’m very good at. (Mainly cause the thought of dealing with all that bores the living daylight out of me).

I keep on meaning to start an excel sheet with my income and outgoings etc but it just seems like too much work, and I’m not good with excel, and I don’t have the time or energy to familiarise myself with it more at this point, and so I just keep putting this whole money planning (life planning…) thing off constantly.

My current method is essentially working as much as possible, and trying to hold off on buying anything, until I get impulsive and splurge on something I don’t necessarily need.

So I was wondering if anyone had any good, easy to use, ideally free, bookkeeping apps/software/life hacks to make being in control of my finances easier?

Also, I’m a bit paranoid when it come to apps and information, not that I have anything really to hide, but I don’t want any apps and third parties having access to my financial details and selling that information to anyone, so even better if you know of any ”ethical” apps or such, that won’t spy on me :grin:

Thanks for any advice :slight_smile:

I work for a non-profit that specifically works with people to help track their budget and increase their score. Alot of my clients like MINT personally its too busy for me. If you would like to review your budget on a weekly basis through a free webisite I recommend https://capitalgoodfund.org/en/coaching/financialcoaching althought it states there is a cost for the financial coaching program the information is completly free. If you sign up it doesnt mean that you will be paying anything if you are interested in the program just let us know.