Can't do it alone anymore. Nice to meet you.

Hi, I’m Joanie! I am new to How to ADHD and new to ADHD. I was diagnosed last summer at the age of 26 after going to my doctor for a memory problem. After CT scans and other unnecessary tests I saw a psychologist who told me, “You don’t have a memory problem. You have an attention problem. You don’t remember things because you weren’t paying attention.” Then she gave me a list of coping skills that I immediately forgot because I didn’t want to do any of them. :expressionless:

Looking back, I was probably ADHD-inattentive, and no one caught it because I was a generally well-behaved little girl, and I was gifted and I didn’t have to try very hard at school. So when I didn’t do well, I got a lot of “you aren’t trying” “you aren’t living up to your potential” and not a lot of “huh what’s causing this?”, which I imagine is a familiar story here! As an adult, I’m learning how much of my experience is colored and influenced by ADHD and how much it is an intrinsic part of me, and not just something I “have.” I can’t put it down. It’s a little frustrating in my family, because even though I have always been the first one to say hey, I have depression, I have anxiety, I have ADHD, no one has every believed me and even after I’ve gotten diagnosed, my family - and especially my parents - have been reluctant to believe me or want to understand me.