Fidgeting during Interviews - How do I stop it?

Hi fellow brains! I have been told frequently that I appear nervous during interviews because of my fidgeting and constant moving. For instance if I am in a chair that spins, I just spin back and forth, or I fidget with the pen in my hand, the resume in front of me, or the jewelry I am wearing. It does not matter what I take away. I will always fidget. I personally prefer to fidget because it helps me focus on the interview. Do any of you have this problem of appearing unprofessional when fidgeting? How do you suggest I stop it? Or should I tell them at the beginning of the interview that movement or fidgeting helps me focus?

What type of jobs are you signing up for? Also maybe at the end of the interview explain your diagnosis if the employer understands then great if not then you shouldn’t work for an employer who doesn’t understand

I wriggle my toes and no-one knows because I wear enclosed shoes!

I am currently a college student who works as a Resident Assitant for University Housing. I plan on applying to be an Assitant Residence Hall Director which is supervisor position. I am also planning on applying for a summer intership as a nursing student at a couple hospitals. Thank you for the advice. I just really want to be taken seriously in my interviews.

That’s a great idea! I think with some practice I can make sure I only wriggle my toes during the interview. Thank you!

When you say “it doesn’t matter what I take away” it makes it sound like you’re trying to limit your options for fidgeting here so that you don’t fidget at all, and then you just find something else to fidget with, You might try taking a dedicated fidget in and maybe even ask if the interviewer minds - people are learning about ADHD, so you could even tell them that it helps you focus because you have ADHD.