Finally Found My Inspiration

adhdlife

Today has been tremendous. For the longest time I have struggled to find my place, to find meaning in the everyday. I’ve fought and sobbed and screamed and given up so many times that I began to wonder if maybe life was just a big meaningless blob of ‘meh’ that I’d be doomed to slog through.

I’ve heard people talk about finding inspiration before, but never really “got it”. It always seemed so shallow and full of meaningless emotional barf, I honestly thought most “inspiration” was just a load of sunshine designed to be blown up naïve individuals’ butts by corporations looking for money.

Today… has been a turning point for me. One that I never thought would come. I’ve been a musician for awhile and I’m quite good, but I’ve never taken myself seriously. I think it’s partly because I never believed I was good enough to make it. My parents and siblings and close friends like my stuff, but surely nobody else would. So I have fallen in and out of creating music for years and made little progress.

And then I decided on a random whim to pull up the Wikipedia page of one of my favorite artists since I knew he had multiple “projects” over the years and his style is exactly what I wish I could sound like.

I finished reading and have been completely blown away. This guy that I have been listening to for a few years now has almost the same background that I do. His biography could have been retitled with my name. And now he has gone from being a simple artist to managing his own record label. Someone like me, who struggled with college and music theory broke away from it all and blazed his own path to become hugely successful.

So… I think I finally understand what it means to be inspired! I finally have a long-term goal! I’m finally taking myself and my “hobby” seriously.

I wish I could put into words the feeling of relief and excitement that is coursing through me at this moment!