From under the shadows...

Weird intro. I know. xD I can be quirky. Anyway, my name is David. I live in Oklahoma snore in the United States. First, I just wanted to thank you two for a brilliant website and videos. You all may not be doctors but, you two really seem to know your stuff! I know some things as I have a Masters degree in Experimental Psychology although I didn’t focus on that because it would be many years before I knew ADHD was part of me after my daughter was diagnosed. It was a heavily research-based program meant to prepare someone for a Ph.D. program. It’s probably too late now but, that’s another story, I came very close to not graduating because, of my ADHD but, at the very first moment (when a professor finally set a hard deadline), I got it completed. It would have been disastrous since I had a 3.9 GPA. Damn multivariate statistics’ B. Anyway, I digress (I know, a shocker for an ADHDer). After that, I didn’t get letters of recommendation, and the chances of getting into any PhD program was about 10%. There are only 3 programs in OK and there but, the main reason is I have a wonderful 11-year-old daughter who also has ADHD. So, I’m hoping this will be a helpful experience for both of us. With her being my #1 priority and the state not permitting me to get a license to counsel because my degree wasn’t “counseling based”. I thought, Hello! My degree is in P-S-Y-C-H-O-L-O-G-Y. In addition, I took all of the counseling courses, as electives, except for a couple. So, I ended up being underemployed with jobs and pay well below what one would expect with a Masters. I got stuck in dead-end jobs at certain companies answering phones, customer service, and even being a manager of a science store at a mall. I was basically miserable because I was like Jessica’s fish trying to climb a tree. I had to just “wing it” until I started getting close to being fired. Then I would have to reveal I had disabilities (ADHD alone wouldn’t do it but, I have multiple othe