Gotta talk with the swedish tax agency on Monday. Wish me luck

Beginning of the year I worked a short time freelance for a company and had because of that to basically register as self-employed, and for all adults out there you know that means taxes! I kid you not, the day after I finally finished the registration I was fired. Now having ADHD and all I dragged my feet on unregistring the company and paying the taxes for money I wasn’t receiving completely slipped my mind. Now I’ve gotten a notice that I need to pay roughly 400 dollars by the end of the month or the state won’t be very happy with me. This mind you is more than 8 times what I earned in total (which for those who are curious was somewhere arround 44 - 45 dollars for three months of work mind you!) and money I just don’t have. I am a broke student and my only hope is to talk to them, turn in my earnings and hope that they at least lower it to something more manageable. So, now I’m forced to speak on the phone with them on Monday and I would like maybe some support. Because I am panicking and I really need to keep a cool head, as my depression dipped this week and I’m just getting out of it and don’t want to fall back in to.

Either way, thank you for reading my ramblings. How you have a most wonderful day.

With Kind Regards from Sweden.

4 Likes

That’s a challenging task. I hope that the tax agency will be able to help you sort this out. It wouldn’t really make sense to pay multiple times what you earned in taxes and I hope the people you talk to will see that and have a sensible solution. Good luck on your talk with them!

2 Likes