Greetings from germany (Its me, Nik)

Hi, my name is Nik, I am 28 years old and I just recently got diagnosed with the inattentive Type of ADHD.

I have a feeling, that this will turn into a wall of text, so I fully understand anyone, who skips the most part (and sorry for my english)

I always was the typical daydreamer child, never (and I really mean NEVER) did my homework, had only a 1 - 3 friends in school and got picked on regurally. Most teachers gave up on me at some point, but the subjects that catched my interest were usually the ones, where I have a natural talent (usually language related) or my teachers could somehow get me interested (history).

I barely graduated and then gave up on 2 degrees, before teaching myself how to program and started a 3 years dual education , to become an official programer. I graduated last year, despite all my problems and increasing meltdowns, but only because I can hyperfocus on writing code.
After that I started my first job, where my disability to manage my time, „careless“ mistakes, that I couldnt explain and breaking down under even the expectation of rejection or critisism finally made me seek help. I got diagnosed with double depression and the inattentive type of ADHD in the hospital, where I will stay until this friday and it was kind of a double edged sword, to be honest.
On the ohne side it opened my eyes and it really explains almost everything I struggle with, but on the other hand, I dont think that I am strongly overexaggerating, because how I think and behave was always my „normal“ and I am only slowly realizing, what the diagnosis even means, altough I have watched almost every single HowToADHD Video out there :joy:

I could write on and on, but I know your attention spans are also short, so…
I just wanted to say Hello

HELLO :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hello, Nik. Welcome to the HowToADHD forums!