Hard-stuck at 23

Hi everyone! I’d like to start by saying that it’s so cool to find a community based on ADHD awareness and treatment. I’m 23, currently undiagnosed, but have had reasons all my life to believe that I show some strong ADHD symptoms. Getting things done and bringing myself to do what I know in my heart and mind is the right thing to do is still tricky. I tend to get lost on one tangent or branch of life and then can’t find my way back to the roots.

More recently I made a move to a new city in a new state I’ve never lived in before with the intention of pursuing higher education. I’ve always been fascinated by Psychology, as well as helping people in whatever way I can, so when I graduated with my Associates after some general-ed courses in my home-state and came here, I went right into that.

It only took one semester for me to realize that maybe I didn’t have it all quite as figured out as I’d thought. My first indicator should’ve been that after spending 2 months prior to my move actively researching for, applying, and following up on job opportunities, nothing was coming my way. I could blame the job market in this new town, myself, or other factors, but the fact of the matter was that 2 months into the move and new school and paying for my own rent, I was already running dry on funds.

In a need for quick compensation so as to not fall flat on my face in the first couple months of my “big adult decision,” I took the first job that called me back and gave me a chance for sustainable employment: a full-time night job stocking shelves at a home-improvement store. This was clearly not ideal, and would mean that I’d be working from 9pm to 5am five nights a week, specifically school-nights. I was taken aback by this turn of events, but was determined and was going to make this work.