Hello, I'm new here

Hi, I’m Stella, a 27 year old med student soon to be a doctor with ADHD. I always suspected it as well as my mom, who is a special eds teacher. She helped me a lot through my school years learning strategies how to cope best. I’m studying medicine in a foreign country at the moment. Due to the stress and I guess due to my ADHD symptoms I fell into depression in my 3rd year of med school.That was 2 years ago. Thus I was introduced into therapy and also insisted to run an ADHD diagnostic at my Psychiatrist office. She first didn’t belive me I could have it because I can mask well when I’m not at home (Uni, clinics, doctors office). But I still struggle with deadlines, concentrating and being distracted from my tasks. And often, when I’m hyperfocused, forget all the other tasks I should do. Thus my apartment is often a mess and there is always a mountain of laundary I still need to iron. So I insisted on the test and yes I was diagnosed with it. I’m not on meds besides SSRI for the treatment of my then diagnosed depression, which is gone by now. My doctor does not recommend me ADHD meds, since she says I’m coping well. ( I doubt that though, since I can be a chaos queen sometimes). That is my story in a nutshell. I’m looking for other people with an ADHD brain here to exchange some strategies. My struggle as mentioned are mundane tasks like housework and keeping everything in order in my apartment. (Where are my keys again? lol) Maybe you guys have some tips for me.

1 Like

welcome, Stella. that sounds incredibly frustrating.