Hello, my name is Gray and I'm new

Hi everyone. My name is Gray and I’m 32 years old.

I came across How to ADHD on Youtube. I’m really new to it, but the more I watch and read, the more it made sense to how I think and act? I haven’t seen a doctor or therapist just yet (I’m not emotionally ready to go through that), so I’m not saying I’m diagnosed with ADHD. But the tips I’ve come across for adults have helped me. I’d love to be apart of this community, and hope I can learn more.

2 Likes

Hi Gray!
I just joined this week… and just got diagnosed last week. I thought my story might help. Oh yeah, I’m 34!

I struggled a long time with why things just seemed harder for me than other people. As an engineer a big part of my job is frankly very boring. It seemed like others could just resign themselves to it and slog through… but I never could.

I’ve tried just about every personal development trick under the sun since college. Got really into improvement and optimization. It helped and I wouldn’t undo anything I’ve done but I still felt I was missing something. About 6-8 years ago I started connecting the dots. I started tailoring my personal improvement around ADHD tendencies. Supplements, meditation, keeping a journal, all of it. What can I say, I’m a DIY guy through and through.

It wasn’t enough. Those coping skills worked for a while but I also developed some unhealthy ones. Food, nicotine and way too much caffeine. I recently hit a really hard patch in life and that was the push I needed to get help. I told the people I loved. I don’t know why but I was expecting shame. I had a subconscious belief that I was weak. When I worked up the courage to tell them about going to a Psychiatrist all I got was love and I can’t even explain the relief.