Hey there! Just introducing myself.

intro

Hey there everyone, I’m Wabbajack. I’m in my 30s. I was just diagnosed with Adult ADHD and so many things have suddenly begun to make sense. I’m happily married, I don’t have any kids, and I’m in my 3rd year as an Apprentice Electrician.

I was pulled out of elementary school when I was young when the teacher told my parents she suspected I had ADHD. From there I was successfully homeschooled before moving on to a private school and eventually public high school. I managed well enough and my grades were good thanks to my parent’s highly structured home environment. Keep in mind that my parents took my success to mean that I did not have ADHD, as they believed that it was overdiagnosed.

Then I hit college. And everything fell apart in a dramatic fashion. Without all of the pre-existing structure, my grades plummeted. I developed a case of General Anxiety Disorder during this time due to the repeated failings and expectations of failure. Eventually, this expanded into Major Depressive Disorder as the failure started to feel unavoidable and began to compound upon itself. I finally snapped under the pressure and shut myself away in my dorm room, eventually flunking out of the school altogether.

I came home and started seeing a therapist. I was officially diagnosed with anxiety and dysthymia, but not ADHD. And I was absolutely not about to take medication for either issue.

I was given a second chance and enrolled in another smaller college to try to complete my bachelors. This time things still did not go anywhere near as planned, but my raw determination not to fail twice, plus the prospect of marriage to a wonderful young woman helped me hang on by a thread. I managed to graduate with a Bachelor’s degree in Music.