Hi there... I'm Sam- Sorry I didn't mean to make everyone my therapist

I’m not really sure what to say here. My name is Sam and I’m a 24 year old women and a New Zealander(also known as a kiwi.) I’ve been watching How To ADHD for years but just realised this forum existed haha.

I believe I have inattentive ADHD but I’m yet to be properly diagnosed. It was first suggested by a psychologist in 2018 but they ended up writing it off, believing that anxiety was the cause of my concentration issues. (I’ve since learnt that this is common for women with inattentive ADHD. I can’t remember where I heard it but someone said ADHD in women often shows up as ‘chronic overwhelm’.)

There is a bit more to my neurodiversity and mental health journey. May go into it later, idk.

So I’m studying a Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism and it’s gone downhill very very quickly. To sum up… I’ve had to deal with a very ableist tutor for the majority of the year. It got to the point where I was marked down for an assignment cause she gave me a disability accommodation, that caused me to reach my breaking point and my anxiety was so bad I couldn’t do the last assignment. So next year I have to come back and repeat like half a semester and graduate 6 months to a year later.

Now, protections are in place. So I don’t have to deal with that tutor as much/she doesn’t have as much authority over me. But, there are several problems…

1. I am so burnt out that I don’t know if I’m going to be able to complete this part of the course either. Its taking me forever to get any work done and it’s getting worse. It’s like I’m trying to crawl out of a hole but the hole somehow keeps getting deeper and deeper.