Hoping to find people who can relate.

Hey,
I am trying to study as a mature student, I am a single mum with neuro diverse kids and I am struggling. I want this study and this career so much, but I am struggling to find a way through my brain. It feels like my brain keeps getting caught in fly traps, then I start moving forward and I have to focus on keeping my kids ok. I am overwhelmed and struggling to figure this out. Being that I am undiagnosed and I can’t get diagnosed for a while yet, I don’t have the help of medication, plus I don’t have family support with this. I have a few great friends. It can be isolating and rough to keep moving forward when your brain feel so trapped and you don’t have the extra support. I do try to push myself and I have done a lot and moved forward a lot including losing about 50kg in the last 18 months, I’ve also done a lot for my mental health as well (as much as I can). The positives don’t change my fears and doubts, they can consume me. I keep trying though, I haven’t given up. Do other people understand this at all? I am trying to not feel so alone in this.

2 Likes

You can be sure that we can understand. Maybe not all of us can understand all, but all of us can understand at least some of what you’ve been through and what you’re going through.

You are most definitely not alone. We’ve got fellow ADHD :brain: Brains :brain: here from all around the world to help and uplift each other.

Great for you, try be going to school. As my friend Barry from @Brooklyn in this forum has said, “it’s never too late to go back to school.”