How do you feel off meds?

This is a question about children and adults.

Both my son and I have ADHD. He is taking 30mg Ritalin LA, I have been prescribed 18 mg Concerta and 10 mg Ritalin.

I notice my son is worse when he is off of his meds at weekends or school holidays. I dont mean he has ADHD symptoms, I mean his behavior is way worse than what is was pre-meds (he only started 4 months ago).

I also dont feel anything on my meds and feel it is a waste of time as nothing has really changed.

Is this normal?

I thought Concerta and Ritalin were the same drug, one time released and one not? I’m relatively new to this so still have a whole lot to learn.

Things like this, I have witnessed with friends of mine that tried Ritalin with their kids, are part of what scared me off trying meds for so long. Surely that is not how it’s supposed to be.

I sure hope someone else here has a good answer for you. I am very interested as well.

They are the same drug, but it’s kind of like eating honey versus an avocado. Both have the same sugar, but the honey will hit your system in 5 mins, an avocado will take an hour or so.

1 Like

Good analogy… I like it. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: Though now I am thinking of making guacamole…

@gorilla it can take a while to get the right medication and dosage. For instance, you might need your doctor to step up your dosage until it’s an effective amount for you. Or maybe try you on a different medication, or a combination of medications. Unfortunately, for a small percentage of people who are diagnosed as ADHD, none of the meds are any help.