how to accept i have adhd?

i know i have it, i am diagnosed. but something just don’t CLICK that i have a disability. maybe it seems so “out there” sense people always told me i am smart and i have it easy cause i am smarter then most… I AM NOT! i have an IQ of 115! its NOT EVEN CLOSE to smart! i score below average on everything in a deductive test. BESIDE spatial reasoning! which i scored in the 76 percentile, where the 73 is the highest average. THAT’S NOTHING!

i don’t know if i am just so ego centered that i cant accept it. or am i just that ignorant that it passes over my head.

0 Likes

Mix of both? And not that great maths skills, maybe? 115 is a standard deviation above average, which isn’t shabby at all. It’s well above average. It’s not Einstein or Hawking, but not bad, and by definition quite a bit above average.:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

As for struggling with accepting you have ADHD? I didn’t get diagnosed until I finished my Master’s Degree, aided by a score of 135-145 depending on the day. You’re conflating IQ and ADHD. ADHD isn’t directly affecting your IQ, although your IQ may help mask the worst of the ADHD. ADHD affects your brain in such a way that your IQ can’t be used efficiently and effectively. That’s likely why you’re scoring low on the tests while having a decently high IQ. Don’t mix up the results of an ADHD test and IQ.:wink:

You having ADHD isn’t that unusual, believe it or not. I just wonder whether you struggle to accept it because you either don’t want to have ADHD (stigma or the like), or because you don’t feel it affects you that badly (yet?), so you can’t have it? I’d love to hear more from you as to exactly what it is you’re struggling with when it comes to acceptance. It can be a complicted thing, I know, but thinking about it a bit more deeply might help.:blush:

2 Likes