How to talk to my parents???

Hi! This is my first time using this, so I’m not sure if this is the right place. Anyway, I need some advice. I started watching Jessica’s videos on YouTube a couple of months ago, and I am realizing that adhd is a possibility for me. I have a really hard time focusing, I am easily distracted, all of my ‘friends’ say I am really loud and really talkative and I talk way to fast. I am very hyperactive most of the time, except when all of a sudden I fell like I can get nothing done. I also (as a 12 year-old) have a really hard time regulating my emotions. I will break down over everything, even the smallest things. But, I am really nervous to bring it up to my parents. I tried telling them in a subtle way by explaining my symptoms but not actually specifying adhd. I am just really nervous because I feel like I am making up my symptoms just because I subconsciously want to feel ‘special’ or something, and them when I realize I am fidgeting or zoning out when someone is talking to me, I internally beat myself up and get mad at myself for trying to make myself different from others. One part of me believes I have it, but the other thinks I’m faking it and I worry that if I work up the courage to talk to my parents and go to a doctor they will say I don’t have adhd and I’m gonna feel so so so stupid. So I just kinda need advice on what to do. Thanks so much for taking the time to read this!

3 Likes

OMG THIS IS SO ME.

Every single word you said is me right now. Every fear you listed every single word matches to me so much. (Yeah I ain’t got any advice but I need some currently)

1 Like

Honestly, the fact that I know someone else is in the exact same boat made me feel SO much better. Thanks!

2 Likes