I CAN FINALLY DRIVE!!! ...with meds.

I’ve been learning to drive for nearly 10 years and failed/cancelled multiple tests. I was too distracted by everything around me to focus on the road, and made so many stupid and dangerous mistakes that in the end I was actually scared to pass my test, because I knew that I’d be an unsafe driver because of my inability to focus on the road. I’ve had well over 100 hours of lessons over the years.

Yesterday was a landmark for me. I had my first driving lesson since being diagnosed with ADHD and starting medication. The difference was phenomenal. I was totally astounded by my newfound ability to watch the road and my instructor was really happy with me. I’m over the moon, knowing I can drive now!

My only concern is that I’ll only be able to drive safely when I’m medicated… I intend to keep some spare medication in my car (when I get one) so that if I forget or it wears off, I can take some before driving.

I know loads of people with ADHD who are great at driving without medication and I really don’t know how you do it! Is anyone else in my shoes? Totally unable to drive without medication?

Congratulations! Awesome that you finally have the freedom to drive!:grin: Just remember to change the medication in your car so it doesn’t expire.:wink:

@nancyn sound familiar?:sweat_smile: It’s always nice to find others who struggle with the same symptoms, so you don’t feel so alone.:wink::blush: And hopefully, if you get a diagnosis, you can get help too, to be a safe driver.:+1:

@djelibeybi Thank you for sharing this! @Marodir thank you for showing me this! It really means a lot.

Wow, that’s great news, @djelibeybi! I’m really pleased for you and also really thankful you shared this, because it gives me hope!