I DO NOT have ADHD. Why am I here?

Hello brains, since I joined the forums and a lot of what is discussed is sensitive and personal I thought it only fair to share my story since I have replied to some posts and created a whole other conversation. I jump ahead a lot.

So, to begin I am 30 years old work full time live with my soon to be wife (we are getting married this October). I graduated from Behavioural Sciences and learned a lot about well behaviour and how even the most seemingly insignificant act or environmental stimuli can really change someones day.

As to why I joined the forums? Well I have to admit I DO NOT have ADHD. I know shame on me. My future wife however does and a little while ago she discovered the Youtube channel and has watched nearly every episode. So, with her in mind I sought out the forums to seek help I suppose. I feel she would benefit from having peer to peer support as much of you seem to wish to provide. I however don’t think I could convince her to join the forums and be an active participant. She definitely has taken some of the advice shared through the Youtube channel to heart.

Few years back I joined a board game group (yes I am that kind of nerd) and encouraged her to tag along as she seemed to like the social aspect of it at least. Some of the games however took a toll and safe to say her attention drifted and she doesn’t have a huge desire to play them in first place. So I encouraged her to find a hobby of her own she has always had a thing for art. So it was no surprise when she chose that to be her outlet. So she now creates things for a small art show and sells them. One of her friends joined her and she mingles with the other artisans. Just feel when she saw the community How to ADHD had built couldn’t help but feel as she would benefit from being a part of it.

So, in short any tips on how to encourage someone to sit in front of a computer who actively detests doing so would be appreciated.

2 Likes