I just learned a random dopamine fact!

So I was scrolling on Instagram. There’s always a crap ton amount of tiktok videos on there too. I stumbled upon this guy who has a million tiktok followers who talks about ADHD all the time, cause he has it.

In one of his videos he randomly drops the fact that dopamine deficiency doesn’t only affect our brains but our whole body. Dopamine deficiency can cause your muscles to be stiff and have you things like backpain. I just went like: O my god there’s the answer to my back issues! Hallelujah! :joy::joy:

So yeah, anyone relates? Cause to me it makes a lot of sense!

5 Likes

Hey Bubbles,

Thanks for sharing.
I have back muscles stiffness and ache issues for ages, much before my ADHD diagnosis.

Did this guy quote any research? I would like to know more…

3 Likes

Yep, back is often sore. I was a truck driver and a mover, thought that was a reason.

2 Likes

No he didn’t specifically quote any research. But I’m pretty sure we’d be able to find something on it. And let’s be honest, if almost everyone with ADHD can relate to this there must be at least some type of truth in it :joy:

2 Likes

Yes, I agree.

And, I used to think I was an oddball with weird sorts of problem which no one else could understand/relate to… :sweat_smile:

1 Like

I knew I could find something. Here y’all go:

2 Likes

Who is it?

1 Like

https://academic.oup.com/view-large/figure/121016215/pny142f1.tif

Very interesting. There is a link between ADHD and Fibromyalgia in some people. (I have ADHD, and my grandma has fibromyalgia.)

Dopamine deficiency is suggested to be the cause of the muscular symptoms (pain, weakness, etc) in fibromyalgia.

2 Likes

I totally get a lot of shoulder and neck muscle pain. I’m on PT and need a regular masseuse as well. I’m holding all my stress in those muscles.

3 Likes