I need Employment Help

Hello I am new to this board. When I heard Jessica’s Ted talk it brought me to tears because someone else was telling my story. I can’t seem to find a job and the jobs that I do get fire me after a year.

In 2012 I graduated college with a 3.0 gpa in communications. I applied to several marketing ferns and never got hired because I didn’t have experience. In 2015-2017 I worked for a local electronic store when that went under. I then thought that I would get into software development. I attended a coding bootcamp where they promised to place with an internship after I completed it but it went under 2 days after my graduation so I was on my own.

I attended all the meetups, hackathons, job clubs, job fairs, conferences that I could but nothing came from it. The reason was that I didn’t have the experience. I got rejected because I didn’t know C#, or some other piece of tech. I then applied to Dev ops and testing I got rejected there too, again because I didn’t know their stack. I met people at meetups and hackathons that said they would help me but after a week never heard from them. I have even tried calling businesses because one of the recruiters suggested it, and was told to apply online. The times I do apply online I hear nothing back.

Am I destined to live in poverty?

4 Likes