I'm a doctor with ADHD.

Hello everyone. I’m very glad to have found this place for support and be able to talk to people that can relate to the issues I face every day. Currently living in Chicago, originally from Cuba.
I was diagnosed with ADHD 2 months ago at the age of 28. I am a doctor and recently started my residency training in pediatrics and as much as I try and work hard it seems impossible to multitask and keep things organized . Obviously this has been there for my whole life but of course I came up with coping mechanisms to get around my deficiencies.
Only God knows how I managed to take 8 hours long board exams without medication but I feel it would have been so much easier if I knew about my ADHD then.
Also I have recently started taking medication, feeling so frustrated and overwhelmed about it since I have no time for appointments. Still trying things out here and there and I have so many questions.

11 Likes

Welcome! I am very impressed. I have so much trouble with science and my short term memory problems really make it hard to take a test. Feel free to ask away. That’s the purpose of this forum. Share your frustration, because we understand. Maybe we can find a way to help. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Welcome to the Tribe, friend, MD!:joy::wink:

I feel you. I finished my Master’s Degree and got diagnosed less than a year after. Decent grades, but horrible during my Bachelor’s, and I also wonder how big of a difference medication earlier would have made… But we’re here now, and it’s all good, hopefully we can get better moving forward!:grin::+1:

Happy to have you here, and good luck with your residency! I can at least guarantee that with pediatrics, things will never get boring and monotonous!:joy:

3 Likes

Welcome! I did two bachelor degrees and had started a master’s course before hetting a diagnosis and then meds and coaching.