I'm Angelina and I'm a STRUGGLING LAW STUDENT with ADHD

Hello Everyone,

My name is Angelina and I am having a hard time in law school with ADHD. I love the material I am studying, but I have a hard time getting started. Last semester, my first semester of law school, I didn’t do so well. I ended up on academic probation and I am so scared of being academically dismissed. I am trying so hard but my brain doesn’t kick into focus on the level it needs to until nighttime. I hate that because then it is hard to wake up. Our final grade is our only grade. I would appreciate any tips or encouragement. I am on medication and do have accommodations. However, I am still struggling. Thank you all so much for hearing me out :orange_heart:

4 Likes

Welcome to the HowToADHD forums @angelinamarie5256 !

I can certainly give you encouragement. A lot of us here will. I wish I could give you some good tips, too. If I think of anything, I’ll make sure to post. (I was just listening to an audiobook that had a lot of good ideas in it, but I can’t recall any of it right now.)

It’s late night for me, so I’ll check back in the morning.

Way to go on getting into Law School! If you can get accepted, I’m certain you have what it takes to get through! What area of law interests you the most? (I like constitutional law, but I’m definitely not pursuing a legal career… I found my niche to be Information Technology.)

3 Likes

I would definitely recommend talking with the faculty or your academic advisor directly too to try and let the know a little bit about your struggles and make them aware. I spent the last 2.5 years of my undergrad on academic probation and involving them proactively was helpful for me.

I also found that for me I had to adapt the work to my own rhythm. I did a lot of my work at night, and I did end up sacrificing sleep a lot, but I ended up setting multiple alarms in the morning and making sure to put my alarm far away from the bed wherever I slept.