International Student with Undiagnosed ADHD

intro

Hi everyone,

I’m Yousef and I’m an international student in the US, idk why I said that but whatever.
So I had a weird way of finding out about ADHD, I always struggled with forgetting everything whether it was school, casual convos or anything. So I made a joke with my friends that I have a mild Alzheimer, idk why no one found that to be funny. Anyways school kept getting harder and harder and I thought that was natural but as I advanced the stresses stacked up and exploded into depression and anxiety and for the first time in my whole life I gave up on attending a class till I failed it. But I was looking for something to cover up this mark out of my family, which made me visit a doctor for the first time in >3 years. And he confirmed that I had depression and social anxiety, so you know, I started looking up solutions to get over them and be normal again. So to fix the social anxiety part I looked up clubs in my school and one of them was called something ADHD so I go look that up and guess what, I suffer from pretty much every symptom, yay!

I’m waiting for my next meeting to take a legit diagnosis but I wanted to see if there is anybody here who experienced a similar situation as me. Because I feel like the language barrier had contributed a lot to the severity of my current mental state.

Also, random question, can you guys memorize songs?

4 Likes

Hello Yousef!

My situation was definitely different from yours - but I’m glad you’re looking into getting a legit diagnosis! I hope your diagnosis process goes smoothly! As for memorizing songs, ooooh yeah. It takes a couple repeats to get the melody line down, then a few more to get the words down by looking at them, and then a couple more for me to have the song down entirely. I still remember some songs I haven’t sung in year! What about you? :slight_smile:

2 Likes