Intro :) ADHD via TBI

Hey Brains! In case you are wondering, a TBI is a Traumatic Brain Injury. I was a pedestrian walking across the street (in a crosswalk) when I was hit by a car. My head went through the windshield and I won bc I’m alive.

Many of my TBI symptoms are Very similar to ADHD symptoms. I’m still learning how things that are very difficult for me are basically ADHD. The car accident was almost 8 years ago and I’m 40yo, so I guess you can say I was diagnosed as an adult?

This is extremely hard for me to deal with bc my clients think I’m a complete mess and flaky as hell. My family doesn’t even “get it” bc they don’t understand how I can be a lawyer but can’t remember to take dinner out of the oven before it burns or pay bills on time.

I know everyone here has struggles and I also SO happy & relieved to “be” somewhere that everyone isn’t angry and disappointed in me and constantly judging me. THANK YOU for creating this forum and thank you to everyone who’s here!

7 Likes

Hello Panda, and welcome!

O. M. G. Brain damage is no joke - a late friend of mine had been in a car accident and definitely had memory struggles. I’m sorry to hear that your family doesn’t seem to understand that brain damage… can be quite permanent. But we are glad to have you - and we are more than happy to try to help you find coping strategies! :smiley: :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello and welcome! You should feel right at home here!

You know what I find particularly frustrating about this? It doesn’t seem to be about the head injury. It’s because you’re a lawyer. If you were, say, a professor of physics and you forgot about everyday stuff, you’d fill the cliché just fine and nobody would complain. Well, whoever was supposed to eat that dinner might. But the common concept of a lawyer is somebody who has it all together all the time. Despite the fact that law probably takes up just as much focus as chemistry.

4 Likes