Intrusive sleep and ADHD

Hi, this is my first post so apologies for bad formatting/wrong catagory etc, im still learning the ropes.

For the longest time i thought i just had a sleep disorder, narcolepsy or idiopathic hypersomnia, but after roughly 4 years of investigation telling me that my sleep is fine, i turned to research and earlier this year found out that my exact issue is a lesser known symptom of adhd, and am now trying to get a diagnosis myself as suddenly it ALL JUST MAKES SENSE!

The issue i have had is since i was about 12 i would just sleep all the time no matter how much stuff i wanted or had to do. i would sleep in school, resteraunts, shopping centres, on benches and even once on a sea wall. Daily naps of 1-3 hours. I could never figure out why I would get so overwhelmingly sleepy to the point that i would nearly pass out until i discovered that some of my other “personality quirks” matched up with the symptoms of ADHD and i might actually be falling asleep due to lack of stimulation.

However there is barely anyone talking about this, even though it is supposedly not too rare. I was wondering if anyone on here has any similar experiences or advice? For me, (baring in mind i do not have an official diagnosis and im not diagnosing myself im just currently acting like i do have adhd and using some of Jessicas tools (omg lifechanging!!!) to try and cope with my inattention and hyperactivity). this is my biggest symptom as it hid so much else for years.

I hope Jessica one day makes a video about this.
Can anybody relate?

thanks for reading
Ami

4 Likes

Interesting!

Though I do not have that issue . . . I do want to convey a hearty WELCOME to our forum! :+1:

1 Like