Is there a link between TMJ and ADHD ?

I am not a Doctor, but recently learned about a potential cause, or contributing factory, to my ADHD.

The temporomandibular (tem-puh-roe-mun-DIB-u-lur) joint (TMJ) acts like a sliding hinge, connecting your jawbone to your skull. You have one joint on each side of your jaw. TMJ disorders are referred to as a temporomandibular disorder or TMD. Behind each TMJ is a nerve cluster, that some think if the joint is applying unusual pressure on the cluster it may be a contributing cause.

Does anyone know where I can find more information about this?

Hmmmm, that is interesting.

I can definitely see why something like that would add more challenges for someone with ADHD though I don’t know if it would be a cause for ADHD. (Of course, I’m no scientist or Doctor either so I’m definitely not laying down any facts! Just thoughts. :slight_smile: ) But that definitely stop it’s validity as an added challenge!!

My fiance has severe psoriatic arthritis and he noticeably struggles more with his ADHD when he’s in more pain. In fact, he could control his ADHD well enough without medication prior to the arthritis, but after the arthritis hit he needed medication to help cope with his ADHD since the pain made it quite difficult to cope without the medication.

And I know -in general- ADHD, or NT, people struggle to focus when they are in pain or discomfort. :broken_heart:

As for information… google. :sweat_smile: But always be sure to note if any articles link back to case studies and other official research-y sources. Because if they do you can follow the trail back to those official studies and read them \o/

I am going to add something to this. All though not yet fully assessed. When I am really concentrating on a task, others have said my jaw moves in a strange way. I have noticed this sometimes. I can feel it after a bit cause my jaw cramps a bit. Not sure if this helps. Just some info for you. .