Learning to Make Friends Late In Life

I’ve learned recently that a lot of people with ADHD were social rejects when they were young, and it was a major relief to learn that it wasn’t, among other hypotheses that I’d come up with, that I was evil or that I smelled horrible but had become nose-blind from living with it every day. However, it’s still hard learning how to make friends as an adult; it feels like I’m only learning now what most other people learned as a little kid, and that everyone already has a best friend or a good friend group and isn’t really interested in meeting anyone else.

Long story short, I’m fresh out of college. I had horrible social anxiety by the time I got to college and wasn’t really able to try and get to know people until my senior year, during which I met some people. It felt amazing having people that wanted to be my friends; however, good old hyper-focus kicked in and I instantly assumed we were, like, best friends, talked to them all the time, asked to hang out all the time, leaned on them for a ton of emotional labor, etc. I moved cities after college to be with them, and took a pretty crappy job since it was the first one I could find and was desperate to stay in the first place I’d had real friends. Well, it turns out that they weren’t as enthusiastic as I assumed. There’s so much I could write, but it would take a while. Even though I know I didn’t know any better, it’s just horribly embarrassing, and I have to feel for them and regret the clinginess that I put them through.