Managing Work as a Manager

Does anyone have any tips or tools on what to use at work to stay on top of projects? I’m a new manager (this new role led me to discover I have ADHD) and I’m drowning. One out of the many things I’m really struggling with is keeping track of my stuff let alone all my staff. I bullet journal and that’s great because I list things out but It’s like it’s missing the part that helps to manage multiple projects with multiple due dates within them.

Thank you! I’m so thankful for this forum as I have only been diagnosed a few weeks. This new role as a manager is insanely challenging for me and my instinct is to run but I need this job.

1 Like

I’d suggest trying to find a mentor, either a supervisor or another manager, to try to learn from. I’d also look back on what helped you stay organized in the past and remember to keep doing those things. There are several books on management and middle management that can be helpful, but it’s probably more useful to start developing a list of tasks that you find challenging, regular questions, or even frequent mistakes. Those can be broken down and problem-solved around. :slight_smile: Congratulations on the promotion! You’ll do fine!

3 Likes

The only really practical advice I can offer is leverage the skills of your team. The most successful teams I have worked in is where the hierarchy is reasonably flat. Including when I am running my own teams on projects. Some people need their hands held others not so much. But everyone usually has something they prefer to do. Find out what that is and try and let them. That might relive some of the workload in dealing with general day to day people problems. It doesn’t work long term but it might buy you some time to settle in. As said above try find a mentor having someone to go to for advice will help a heap.

Remember they gave you the job because they have faith in you. You will do great and remember to try and enjoy it even the hard bits can be fun.

M