Maybe I should quit.

I’m thinking about quitting school for good. I’ve been trying for several years to do any sort of good work in college, but have never managed to get through it without several failed classes and crippling anxiety.

I was only able to pass high school because I had a lot of very personal one on one attention, and even then I graduated by the skin of my teeth.

I don’t think I can get though school without heavy accommodations, or some kind of miracle, and at this point I just feel like I’m fighting a brick wall. Maybe it’s time I just walked away, get job or two and just work on my writing.

I’m not sure yet. I just know I’m not making it out of this semester with anything above a D and after that I’ll probably be on academic probation again, so… maybe the school will make this choice for me.

3 Likes

Are those your illustrations I saw on greendresser?

1 Like

yes that is my art. thank you for taking a look.

2 Likes

It’s a tough question. I got through my bachelor’s by the skin of my teeth and I didn’t complete an additional piece I had planned to do and really hoped to do. I got the degree, but it was a pretty awful experience. In the following few years I worked (not in jobs that used my degree, though it’s possible that having it mattered to the people in charge of hiring) and I found that change of environment made it possible to start to tackle some of the things that had been causing me problems at school. I took another program after that and it was still hard, but it went a lot better and it felt a lot better, too. I still wonder whether I would have been better to take a hiatus during my bachelor’s degree. I didn’t feel like pausing and taking a step away was an option, but when I look back I wonder if it might have helped me a lot and I could have come back and finished with more strength and less suffering.