Me and deadlines

So I know that being good with deadlines is an ADHD thing, but I’m not until it’s like right about to happen. Like if I have a report or something due I’ll forget to work on it for like 3 days and then on the night before I do it. I thought maybe in ADHD it was a bit better (today’s example is that I had to do shopping in 30 mins and I kept getting distracted till like the last 10 minutes and then I was focused on it and right when it was decided i got distracted a couple seconds later). Is this me not being ADHD like or is it me being ADHD like I’m not sure

This isn’t really a thing I’ve ever been good at (the finishing things right before a deadline thing) but since no one else has posted yet I think add something.

Yes, that is definitely an adhd quality.

I am not an expert on exactly how this works in adhd brains but from what I understand an adhd brain lacks dopamine (which is what you need in order to focus) and when people are in a high stress situation your dopamine levels rise, making you as calm and as focused as a non adhd person in a non stressful state. (An adhd person can actually be more calm than a non-adhd person in a crisis.)

So when you are left till the night before to do something for whatever adhd reason it might be (procrastination, inablility to focus, forgetting, etc.) thats usually when you can think the clearest. And when adhd people actually ARE able to concentrate that’s usually when you are able to hyper-focus. and if you can hyperfocus when you are in a stressful situation you’ll probably have more drive and concentration than most normal people have to finish whatever you need to do in that one-nighter.