Motivation to go to work

Hello! I’m new to this and excited to meet others who have similar struggles to me, but anyways I’ll get on with it, and bare with me, its a story. So 2 weeks ago I recently started a new job at Panda Express after 2 years of not working, I have horrible motivation and find work to be an agonizing chore and so have a hard time sticking with it, but now I have a daughter and quiting is not an option. The problem is a girl who has been training me has no understanding whatsoever of my struggles. At one point becoming extremely annoyed with me and talking down at me and saying things like, “omg how do you not get this by now”, and many other things like that, she gave up trying to help me and sent me off all while having tears in my eyes because she made me feel stupid. It makes me second guess if this job is right for me which is bad because I already have a hard enough time wanting to be there. Now finally before I go off topic, how do you guys manage to get through your work or school days, how do you talk yourself out of quiting or not going? I have no idea how I can keep doing this job long term if I can’t remember simple tasks or constantly loose count while counting change. I’m not dumb, I know how to count, but in the heat of the moment when there is a long line I simply cannot think, and that’s how the anxiety starts to kick in, anyways that was just a mini rant, I’m more interested in how I can keep going and just do it?

2 Likes

First of all WELCOME!

I am relatively new here, but not new to ADHD. Won’t talk about me now, but allow me to say a few things some of which may be helpful to you.

2 Likes

Thank you! I can’t wait to see what you have to say!

1 Like

OOPS!

Pushed the wrong button before.