Multitasking

I have dyspraxia, ADHD and aspergers traits.

I read the book , The ADHD Advantage, written by Dale Archer MD.

The book says, people with ADHD are good at multitasking. If the person only has ADHD, it is likely to be true. However , if the person has dyspraxia and / or ASD, it is less likely to be true.

I am not good at multitasking, perhaps due to my poor coordination ?

4 Likes

whats multitasking… i only know not being able to get anything done due to being overwhelmed/overloaded

4 Likes

@vh0622

Maybe it is not for you !

Eg, can you read a book , go on the exercise bike , listen to music, watch the tv, listen to background noises at once .

It is doing more than one task at once .

4 Likes

Not really with my brain i would not be able to focus on the book get overwhelmed by the noise that then i stop exercises.

3 Likes

Secretly, I’m not on here, I’m grading homework lol!

I always got told I sucked at multi tasking. Contrary to popular, non justified beliefs…I actually was always great at jobs involving multiple inputs and multitasking once I figured it out. I feel I’m best at in the moment chaotic moments. And I always need the fan on, the television, music, and people talking within earshot, otherwise its hardest to focus on tasks.

Under medication, I notice my attention is sort of, lateral, I can do other things, and not get agitated, but i can also tune everything out. Whereas before it was all a frequency I needed to be able to operate —the noises, etc. I also notice i spend less time gazing out the window!

I wonder how many teachers go undiagnosed or stigmatized for ADHD, as they’re among some of the best multitaskers!

5 Likes

I can multi-start tasks just not multi-finish them :joy:

3 Likes