Nervous about starting a conversation..... in Italian

information
anxiety

I wasn’t really sure where to post this, but I need a little advice from any of you who know another language. Here is some background information…

I’m studying abroad in Sorrento, Italy, I have been here for about two weeks.
I’m trying to learn as much Italian as I can from my class, Duolingo, and Memrise.
But…I’m still very nervous about trying to speak it…

I know I can start a conversation in a shop with somebody in Italian, but I’m always so nervous while doing so. If i want to ask something or if someone asks me a question in Italian I freeze, or respond with some Italian… and some English… confusing the both of us. I know I can speak Italian just fine, but I still get extremely nervous while doing so. Luckily most people understood that I was shy and nervous and they helped out as much as they could, but does anyone else get this nervous when trying to speaking another language? And if so, what did you do to gain more confidence?

I understand the feeling very well…here’s my story.
I barely understood spanish and married a Venezuelan years ago… the first two years were exhausting. My world that I knew once changed 100% my TV Channels, the music and circle of friends etc. So, believe me… if I became fluent you can too.