New here: Physical Therapist with ADHD with job performance struggles.

Hi all, I’m so glad I found this forum from what I have seen so far it looks really great! I have really enjoyed Jessica’s videos on How To ADHD youtube channel and was excited to learn there is a forum also. ADHD is relatively new to me (though I’ve been struggling with it for a long time without knowing what it was).

I started counseling to help me with work performance deficits before I had any clue I could have ADHD. I just couldn’t meet productivity quota’s with any consistency despite wanting to be a good worker… (the consistency was not meeting them). My bosses were very patient for a long time but finally my boss had to start pressuring me about it and having difficult meetings with me about my performance and I didn’t know how to fix it. I work in a hospital setting and often get good feedback from my patients - my boss even points out my good qualities and tries to stand up for me with HR telling them I am a good worker - but productivity is an issue the organization is concerned with as it is a for profit hospital.

Finally my boss wrote me up for failing to meet productivity - it seemed so unfair as getting “written up” seems like something that happens when you do something super bad or deliberate not something you don’t know how to fix and can’t promise never to do again because you don’t know how… My boss tried many things to help me, observed me work, gave me tips but I still fall short and have trouble implementing her advice consistently. Anyway - she and her assistant recommended counseling which has helped me a lot as far as understanding myself and beginning to understand some of the reasons I struggle but I am still struggling at work and feel like I haven’t made much improvement there. I guess I grew up thinking if you show up and work steady/do your best you should automatically be successful… I guess that isn’t always true…