New to ADHD...well...kinda

Hello all! I’m seeking a bit of help here, well, because we’re all stronger when we’re together.

I have been diagnosed with ADHD (actually ADD) since I was quite young…I think like 8 or 9. My doctor put me on Ritalin and my parents said they didn’t like how emotional it made me, so they took me off of it. That was the last treatment I’ve ever had for ADHD.

I’m now 36, I’m a pastor of a pentecostal church, married to the world’s greatest woman (no disrespect to you female brains out there), and I have the 3 most amazing boys God ever created…oh, and I’m an IT tech…so I’m kinda a nerd too. :stuck_out_tongue:

So, now that you have my brief intro, let’s get on to the real reason I’m writing here. I have ADHD (I know, shocker). I’ve known it since I was young and I’ve always thought that I had learned to manage it well…and maybe grew out of it. That is until my wife started working on her Masters in Clinical Counseling (18 more months to go! I’m so proud of her). She started learning about developmental disorders such as Autism (which my oldest son has) and ADHD. When she was reading the description of adults with unchecked ADHD, she was amazed, because it was a clear description of me. So, she asked if I’d ever had a diagnosis, and that’s where this journey began. I hadn’t hidden it from her, I just though that it wasn’t really part of my life anymore, but I was wrong. I read the article in a psychiatric journal that described me…I mean…adults with ADHD that is untreated and I was blown away.