Newly diagnosed and failing dental school

Hey guys,

This is all so new to me because I was just diagnosed this week, but it turns out I’ve been living with ADHD my whole life and didn’t realize it. I was under the impression that everyone lived their life with their brain functioning like mine, but wow now I’m envious of how much easier it must be for them.

Anyway, the reason I came to this conclusion and got tested is that I’m in my first year of dental school and I’m currently failing. The frustrating thing is that I couldn’t figure out why. I study all the time and just as hard as everyone else but have been failing numerous tests. I’ve met with professors and student services, and they give me all of this advice but im unable to succeed even when I try what they suggest.

I’m starting medication tomorrow but im concerned that I’ve dug myself into too deep of a hole and may not be cut out for the one thing I have always wanted to do with my life. I’m wondering if anyone has experienced anything similar or has any advice?