Newly diagnosed, struggling but hopeful

Hello everyone!

I’m a 23 F med student and I was diagnosed with ADHD (inattentive type) just yesterday! I’ve been doing lots of research since and was really excited to find this community. I’ve been really struggling in med school, currently repeating my 2nd year (and there’s a fair chance I won’t make it this year either), but I’m really hopeful that I’ll be able to turn a new corner now that I know what exactly is going on and that it’s not just down to personality flaws (the ‘Am I Lazy, Stupid, Messy, Flaky? ADHD’ video hit me pretty hard).

If anyone has any experience with ADHD in uni and getting support from your university I’d be really interesting in hearing about it!

Looking forward to getting to know you guys :blush:

1 Like

Unfortunately I don’t have experience getting help with ADHD at university. I wasn’t diagnosed until years after I completed my undergrad and master’s degrees.

I actually struggled a lot in undergrad and high school probably due to the undiagnosed ADHD. I ended up on academic probation and was almost kicked out of the school, but was eventually able to graduate. I had to learn lots of skills to compensate for my challenges then.

What I will say is that it’s important to be in touch with your academic advisor and any student support services on campus such as “Student Success” or “Services for Students with Disabilities.” It also helps if you’re actively in mental health care, as that’s a great sign to the university and the med school that you’re actively managing things.

You can probably find lots of tips within the forums or some of Jessica’s videos on good strategies to help with academics. You’re right, knowing is half the battle so now that you’re armed with the diagnosis you can focus in on what you can do to be more successful.

Good luck and welcome to the tribe!

2 Likes

Thank you!!

I’m glad you were able to graduate despite all the challenges you faced, that’s amazing!