Paying my family to do my house work?

I’m having some really conflicting feelings right now. My mom just came in to my room to tell me she figured something out to try and help me.
I’m not good with chores, which I know is no surprise, so my mother things it would be a good idea to, instead of do it myself, pay my sister to do it.
She claims my sister is fine with the idea, I haven’t spoken to her yet, but my sister tends to be a people pleaser. so I’m not sure.
I’m having a hard time being okay with this idea. shouldn’t I just do what I’m supposed to? is this lazy? is this going to make my sister resent me more? it would leave all the house cleaning to her… it doesn’t feel right to do.
My mom says it’s fine cause I’d be paying her, but, it feels so gross, and in all honesty kind of hurts that my mom even brought this up as if I’m just… never going to be a useful part of the family.
I need a second opinion. is this okay?

1 Like

I think it’s an okay idea. The question is, are you okay with it?

I hear two sides. Side one is that you’re blaming and shaming yourself for not just doing this on your own. You feel like you “should” just do it, and that it says that you are less of a person because you can’t or don’t. At the same time, how long has this been a struggle? What things have you tried in the past to make it happen? Sometimes we can’t just will ourselves into doing things, especially things we’re not good at or that we don’t like. Just because you don’t clean or don’t want to clean doesn’t make you a bad person, a disappointment, or not a part of the family. Some of us just have different goals and different skills.