Responding to criticism...

I have been asking a lot of questions on here, I’m sorry it it gets annoying, but I don’t know how to respond to today,
I entered in a design competition that was required for my class, I know I didn’t win because my work isn’t as strong as my classmates.

The winner will be announced tonight and the main judge is giving us two speeches, one (that i just came back from) and another in an hour to announce the winner and critique everyone’s design. I asked him a few questions afterwards and I introduced myself.

Surprisingly he recognized me and he said that we would talk about my submission a lot. specifically the good and the bad. I get that that’s just normal criticism.

I don’t know how to react to his words though, I’m very nervous about the bad things in my design. I know there are some things that are bad, but I didn’t have time to fix them before submitting. I just don’t want everyone to think I’m a terrible architect because I messed up on some things.

I am probably just overthinking the situation but could I get some sort of happy motivational quotes of something to make myself feel less anxious about tonight?

1 Like

Just use it as a learning experience and a step in becoming an even better architect than you were yesterday.
Just think you already know more about architecture than most people, the majority of the people in this world wouldn’t even know where to begin, and that’s something to be proud of.
I think most people including myself don’t like criticism, but using it as a tool to improve rather than just beating yourself up is what’s important.

0 Likes