Shame over late submission of assignment

Hi,
I am new here. I feel bad that the first time I’m posting anything is because I need some reassurance from people who might understand how I’m feeling.

I’m in my third year at university and completely overwhelmed. I have been working with people at Uni to better my strategies around coursework but now just feel that I have thrown it all away.
I had an assignment due in a few days ago and due to completely foreseeable problems (rewriting my conclusion at the last minute, my internet crashing, going to the wrong website etc.) I ended up handing it in 1 minute past the deadline which comes with a -10% penalty.

Handing it in I was so stressed I felt like I was going to faint and then had a massive nosebleed. Even 5 days later I shake when I think about handing it in. I just feel so ashamed. I can’t tell anyone and I don’t know what to do. I keep going over it in my head adding up all the mistakes and how just not making one of them would have lead me to hand it in on time.

I worked really hard on this essay for 9 weeks, went to every extra session, dragged it around everywhere with me and then ruined all my hard work at the last second.

I know this feeling will eventually pass I just can’t imagine how I’m ever going to feel okay again.

Harriet

Update: I contacted the university, explained the situation and they said that they would waive the penalty. Thank you all so much for building me back up. Without you I wouldn’t have had the courage to contact the university, I would still feel ashamed and have 10% knocked off my mark.

8 Likes

Harriet,

Couple of suggestions to look at right now.

If you were only a minute late, I’d talk to some one on the staff and ask to have the 10% deduction waived. Always remember that the faculty in which you study have a vested interested in seeing you succeed. They may cut you some slack and at the stroke of a pen (or the click of a mouse) you might not have to worry about the 10%